soulspiceadventures

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing!" …Helen Keller …Saving the world, one life-changing, consciousness raising, wonderful adventure at a time.

skunk..one of nature’s many gifts

on May 16, 2012
Baby striped skunk

Baby striped skunk (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Many years ago we loved going camping and more often than not, weekends would find us out in our tent in the trees somewhere.  We slept on mats on the floor…no fancy stuff for these hardy tenters.  Being in nature always renews and energizes.

One morning I woke at earliest dawn as it was just starting to get light outside and I lazily rolled over and opened my eyes.  Yikes!!! there right in front of my eyes, so close I was afraid a blink might scare him, was a black and white striped tail!!!  you guessed it!!  a skunk!!!  Help!! Panic!!  What to do?  If I moved a muscle I might regret it for the rest of my life… or at least for many weeks.  Screaming was definitely not an option.  My brain was on overdrive but my body was paralyzed.. barely even breathing. I suddenly realized that I was powerless in this situation.  Even though this little skunk was just a mere fraction of my size he definitely held the upper hand.  No amount of anything I could do would save me if Sir Skunk decided to pull a power trip.

So I just relaxed into the realization that he either does his thing or not and I can either just enjoy the moment or not.  Enjoyment seemed the better option.  Sir Skunk was such a beautiful little creature, and moved so gracefully about, almost elegantly, kind of like he knew he was royalty.  He sniffed around and after a few minutes he was at the doorway.  Oh please, Sir Skunk, you managed to get in so please find your way out.  The door flap was zipped shut so he must have somehow got under. Ooops, I had to move my head to be able to keep him in my eyesight.  No, here he was coming over toward me again.  Another close up view of a skunk tail.  That skunk tail is like the opposite of a white flag.  White means surrender, peace, but black and white stripes…this is like a warning flag signalling danger!!  Have you ever experienced the intensest fear at the same time as deepest relaxation?!  For five minutes which seemed like five hours I watched and alternated between paralytic panic and enormous enjoyment and actually it was more like both were there at the same time…and then there he was by the door and suddenly his tail just disappeared under the door flap and he was gone.

WOW!!!  What an experience!!  This was for a few minutes an experience of life lived!!  And that aliveness shaped the rest of my day and days to come.

Moral of the story: Enjoy the moment no matter what it brings.

Pinch of Spice:  This week just notice your automatic reaction to things and instead of acting upon that reaction just enjoy the moment, the experience and the reaction…and no you don’t need to find a skunk!!  Each day at the end of the day take a few minutes to review the day to recall any emotions, even slight ones and see how you can bring enjoyment to that experience.

What do you think??

